My holiday gift from Frontier: a shortcut to elite status renewal

I’d given up on renewing my Frontier Airlines elite status for 2018 after a failed attempt at a mileage run.

Then Frontier sent me this email out of the blue:

Screen Shot 2017-12-22 at 8.07.44 PM

I was 8k miles short of the 20k needed to renew my status, but they’re offering to give it to me for another year if I take just one flight, of any price or distance, before the end of the year.

BTW, how do you find out how many elite qualifying miles you’ve flown?

Frontier is a budget airline with a budget website (…it’s glitchy).

When I sign in to my account, my elite qualifying miles-flown number appears on my profile for about 2 seconds, then disappears.

You might not notice it if you aren’t looking for it, and it might not act like that in all web browsers, but it does that to me using the Chrome browser.

I grabbed a quick screenshot of my EQMs flown before it disappeared:

fullsizeoutput_6b2

Edited to remove personal details.

I also noticed this cryptic activity on my account listed as the same day I received the email about taking a flight to renew my elite status:

Screen Shot 2017-12-22 at 8.11.29 PM

It’s almost like someone manually went into my account to set it up for the single-flight-for-elite offer. Weird.

Anyhow, I won’t be taking Frontier up on the offer since I won’t have an opportunity to take a Frontier flight before the end of the year.

Portland has only one direct flight on Frontier — to Denver of course — so I wouldn’t be able to make much use of elite status in 2018 anyhow.

After 18 blissful months as a Frontier elite, the end is nigh.

Happy holidays!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s